8 Ways to Market Yourself on Facebook: Workshop Wednesday

Workshop Wednesday

Last week, we discussed  5 Ways to Promote Yourself on Facebook. This week, we’ll take it a step farther and discuss how to Market Yourself on Facebook.

You’ve set up your page, got your timeline cover up, found just the right picture for your profile pic (Avatar), so now what?

1.  Update Your Page Regularly. Trust me, I’m the first to say this isn’t always easy. This is where your automation with Hootsuite and having Twitter/Facebook and WordPress/Facebook connected come in.  When you post on Twitter, or blog on WordPress, you can have both media giants post directly to your Facebook Page. This helps to keep your content new and fresh. Many who don’t do Twitter or WordPress will often go to a Facebook page to read. Appeal to this group by using every available resource to help yourself.

2. Exclusive Fan Content. I know, do as I say, not as I do, but I am working on this one. I’ve just redone my whole Facebook Page, and one thing I am working on is exclusive content for fans. In my case, I want to offer Facebook Timeline Cover with matching Profile Pics. Maybe wallpapers. Because I am both an artist and author, and Heaven’s Garden Production promotes both, this makes sense.  You may wish to offer a free read to entice readers, a spreadsheet that is ready to go for them to keep their personal library organized, and so on. You’re only limited by your imagination.

3. Promote Your Speaking Engagements/Workshops/Book Signings. Not everyone does this, but for those who do, this is a great place to promote it. Most especially if the engagements relate to the book you have written, or to writing in general. I will be promoting the Monday Mania, Two for Tuesday, Workshop Wednesday, Friday Friends on my page. It can help with keeping the page updated on a regular basis, and bringing new readers and potential followers to my blog. Every little bit helps.

4. Say Thank You. That’s right, you can use your Facebook page to say thank you to your new fans who have liked your page by having a “LIKE” contest. For instance, when Heaven’s Garden hits 100 likes I will be giving away 1 copy of What Reviewers Want: Get Inside One Reviewer’s Mind. At 250 likes, I’ll offer two eBooks, and so on. This is a way of showing gratitude to those who have liked your page, and also, it promotes your book.

5.  Badge it. Facebook allows you to create a “badge” that can be put on your blog or website. This is something I recommend., and as I write this, I’m trying to remember if I’ve done it. If not, it’ll be up by the time this is posted.

6. Advertise Yourself. This is optional. I have not done this as of yet, but know of several authors who have, and have had success with it. Others, not so much.  Basically, you can create an ad that will show on Facebook for a set amount of time for a set amount of money. Learn how to Advertise on Facebook.

7. Cover it. You can use your timeline cover to promote your books, workshops, etc…just follow Facebook’s rules regarding what is allowed and what is not. I’m working on a cover for my husband, Rob Graham, that will include the books he has out. and when the covers are finished, it will include “Coming Soon” books. This is a great way to get interest in your books.

8. Profile it. Use your book cover as a profile picture. Have your cover artist create a 180×180 avatar you can use, so that it doesn’t look scrunched up or misshapen. Another free way to promote yourself and your book on Facebook. You’ll need to upload it to your Facebook Page Photo Album.

There you have it, 8 ways to market  yourself on Facebook. Now, go out, Page it, and have fun.
Please feel free to leave a comment, make suggestions for other ways to use Facebook to promote your book(s). I’m sure I’ve left something out.

One thought on “8 Ways to Market Yourself on Facebook: Workshop Wednesday

Leave a Reply

