Dara Young: Friday Friends

Here’s our second edition of Friday Friends. This week, I did an interview (kinda did it some time ago, reworked and reposted from an old blog) with author Dara Young. What follows is said interview. Enjoy.

Today, we have a special treat. Author Dara Young braved the wild jungle known as the Internet to be with us today. So, of course, I had to ask her some questions. You know me, I don’t ask the typical questions, you see. No, I had to ask the ones to make her think.

  • What is the easiest part of writing for you? What is the hardest part?

Putting words on the page (most days). Editing is the bane of my life. I suck at it and hate doing it. The cleaner I can write the first time the happier I am later.

  • What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

I think the toughest has been just the generic form letter rejections. If someone gives specific criticism I can at least consider it, weigh its value, and then use it or discard it as I see fit. But with those generic form letters you get nothing. Nada. Zilch. Just a thanks for your submission but it’s not right for us at this time. I mean, what am I supposed to do with that?

  • You are having a dinner party. You are able to invite one literary character, one president, one musician, one sports figure and one movie villain. Who do you invite?

Literary Character: Rhett Butler, because I have always loved Gone With The Wind and really, the man is just sexy.

President: George Washington because I want to know what the fore-fathers were thinking when they revolted and established the US.

Musician: Celine Dion, she just has such an amazing voice.

Sports Figure: Nadia Comaneci, I just remember her as being the epitome of gymnastics and yet she was a little thing.

Movie Villain: The Joker from The Dark Knight, he was just so freaking crazy, and scary, and yet totally funny.

  • What is your favorite heroine’s favorite color?

Uh…that I’ve written

? I wrote a character called The Golden Lady, she favored black because it helped hide her in the shadows when she was pirating. 😉

  • What is your favorite hero’s favorite color?

Again, that I’ve written…no clue. I don’t think I’ve given my men a favorite color before. LOL!
Here’s a quickie question:

  • Crayons, markers or paint?

Markers! I love writing on things with markers.

  • And Word Association. Aren’t I fun?!

Writer: bald

Cheese: stinky

Bestseller: me 

Supermarket: food

So, to be really nice, I’ll let you ask me a question, Dara. (Don’t be too hard on me, I bruise easily. *Wicked Evil Grin*)

What’s your favorite book of all time, regardless of genre?

I’d have to say that right now it’s Crista McHugh’s “A Soul for Trouble” as it was just so interesting. A real page turner for me. Very well written and for a fantasy paranormal, very believable.

The Cancun Dancer and the Duke
Available now: Wild Rose Press

The Cancan Dancer and The Duke
The Wild Rose Press

Can a lady on the lam and a duke on the make find love at the Moulin Rouge?

Cathedrals and museums are not Lady Charise Colton’s idea of European adventure. Turn-of-the-century Paris beckons, and she wants to grab it while she can…or rather, cancan. Flirting with fate and half of Paris, Charise eludes her chaperones and joins the cancan revue at the Moulin Rouge.

Ethan Greer, Duke of Lofton, is in Paris to settle some estate business. Chafing under his responsibilities, he discovers an enchanting distraction at the Moulin Rouge, a flirtatious dancer who stirs his lust and something more. He must have her—even if it means offering carte blanche.

Terrified of discovery, Charise tries to hold her persistent suitor at bay, though her heart has already surrendered. Will she lose him if he learns the truth, or is love enough to bind the cancan dancer and the duke?

Excerpt:

The singular sound was a soft whisper at first. The audience strained forward to catch even a note of the eerie melody carried on the fetid air of the cafe. As the song picked up, her voice grew stronger, the words more clear. Ethan relaxed into his seat and let the warm rich alto caress him. His body grew warm with the promises carried by the witch’s husky tones.

He remained unaware of anything in the room except the siren walking toward him. Each steady, unhurried step she took further drew him in. His gaze feasted on the curve of her hip, the swell of her breast. Ethan rode the knife’s edge between lust and propriety.

The song described, in lurid detail, two lovers in the throes of passion. Upon reaching him, the dancer propped the toe of her boot onto the edge of his seat—square between his thighs. The luscious creature presented impossibly sheer bloomers which hid everything and yet nothing, causing him to let out the breath he, until now, unknowingly held. His cock grew rigid, the uncomfortable throbbing causing him to shift. The desire to haul her into his arms and demonstrate every action she described with the most sensuous mouth he’d ever seen rode him hard. Her full lower lip begged for his kiss. Ethan wanted to see it slick and glowing pink from his attentions.

The wanton dancer continued to taunt him, but his good breeding won out. Forcing himself to stay seated, his fists balled and his jaw grew rigid with frustration, but his raging lusts remained leashed. The song ended, sending her into the nether regions of the cafe in a swirl of skirts.

Add it to my shelf at: GoodReads

Website

Facebook

GoodReads

Klout

Lady Jane’s Salon San Diego

LinkedIn

Pintrest

Twitloss

Twitter

Thanks for being with us, Dara, and for being such a good sport and answering questions that are a little out there. *smile*

2 thoughts on “Dara Young: Friday Friends

Leave a Reply

