Last week, I described how to write a book review. Today, we will work on how to requests a book review. This is a general way of doing it, but remember, each reviewer has their own policy.

  • To begin, you will want to have a list of the places you wish to requests a review from. The best way to put your list together is to google for book reviewers for your genre. Some of the general reviewers are Big Al’s Books & Pals, BookSlut. There are many more out there waiting for you to discover them.
  • I suggest having a list of 20-50 sites, as nearly half of them will have non-working links, non-working emails, incorrect contact information, will not acknowledge emails for numerous reasons, even if you followed their directions to the letter, and more.
  • Write individual emails. Do not use a form letter. In your email, address the reviewer by name, if it is available, otherwise, I would say you could address them by their site name. For instance, if you did not know I am angel Graham, and could only find the site name, Heaven’s Garden, I would not be offended if your request began as: Dear Heaven’s Garden.
  • Be brief, but follow each site’s policy on how to ask for (request) a review. Here, you will want to check out Review Policy,to see what our rules are. Tell the reviewer in one short paragraph what your book is about, what genre, including if it is fiction or non-fiction, and if you have a book release coming up and when. Some reviewers will try to work with you to review in time for your release date, but not all.
  • Use spellcheck, proper grammar, and punctuation. Pretend you are sending your request to a publisher or agent and put your best foot forward. No one expects absolute perfection, but numerous errors in your requests do not bode well in receiving a review.
  • Have your author’s bio ready along with a brief outline or synopsis of the book, buy links to where readers may purchase the book, a copy of the book in .mobi, .ePub, .pdf, or other popular formats for ereaders. Have a cover image ready of high quality which can be sized down as needed. DO NOT SEND UNTIL REQUESTED.
  • Remember to include your name, your pen name, if applicable, and your email within the body of the email. This simply makes the reviewers work easier. Make sure your email addy is written correctly and works. You have no idea how many times I have tried to reply to authors emails and it bounced back. I don’t try to find proper contact information any longer, I am too busy.
  • Close your email off in a respectful manner. If you have an email signature you typically use, now is the time to be sure it is updated and in working order. A link to your website, to your social media would be good ideas here, but it is up to you if you wish to do this. For myself, an email signature with links is different from links within the actual body of the email, which most reviewers do not want.

There you have it. Now, send out your requests and bye ready with your information, including release dates if asked by reviewer. Go forth and request.

Have you ever asked for a book review? How did it go? Do you do book reviews? Leave your name and a link to your website in the comments section. Perhaps someone will requests a review from you.

6 thoughts on “How to Request a Book Review: Workshop Wednesday

  1. Nice post, Angel, and good advice. I’ve let reviews accumulate organically for my first two novels but with my latest, The Crucible Part 1 – a political thriller, I’m soliciting because a minimum number of reviews is an entry requirement for some of those review sites.

    1. Hi, Ruby,
      Thanks for commenting. Yes, I know what you mean. I have three books out. One, What Reviewers Want, has accrued its reviews organically. The other two, not at all. I am ready to go looking. I hope you find reviewers. Good luck.

  2. Hi, this is a great article. As a book reviewer I get quite a few requests through. Please do not be offended if I don’t email you straight back. I am trying to read books more than be on my computer reading emails and I get lots of junk email each day which I have to sift through to get to my proper mail. You may have to send me a reminder. Also if you would like it done by a specific date, as maybe part of a blog tour, again, if you remind me, that would be great. Book reviewing is something I do as a hobby, I have a full time job in a marketing agency. I also have a 5 year old son and his dad to look after, so my time is pretty limited. I’ll do everything I can but sometimes I might need a poke or a tweet to remind me!

    I think I would also add that if you approach a book reviewer and they don’t normally review your type of book, they may say that they don’t want to review your book. Again, do not be offended by that. If I say that to an author, it means that I would not be able to do your book justice which is exactly what you deserve. Fabulous authors should be shouted about, a lot of authors are very modest and don’t shout about their own work, so please let us reviewers shout about it for you.

    Hope I haven’t gabbled on too much, I just really enjoyed the article.
    Kim
    xxx

    1. Fantastic comment, Kim
      Thanks. I will be expanding on this in my Reviewers book I mentioned in the above comment. That is a good reminder about how busy we can be, and needing a gentle nudge at times.

      I would say if you haven’t heard back on your first email to a reviewer, it would be all right to send a second email and remind them. It may have gone into their spam folder, they may be ill,or something else and the reminder is just what they need.

      Also, great thoughts on not being offended if a reviewer does not review your genre. Itis one reason I put it in my Review Policy.

      Thanks again, Kim for some great thoughts.

    1. Hmm, for me, Calisa, I would say send a gentle nudge after 3 weeks. Definitely after six. So, yeah between 3-6 weeks for a follow up email would be good.

      Great question by the way. When I update my book, these are some of the things I will be addressing.

      Thanks for commenting, Calisa.

Leave a Reply

